02.25









02.26









02.27








02.28





LECTURE AND Q & A   1 pm EST / 7 pm CET


PERFORMANCE   2 pm EST / 8 pm CET
Take Me to That Landscape, by Hanna Mattes & David Rothenberg. After six months of experimenting remotely between Berlin and NY, Mattes & Rothenberg will give their very first live performance. And we get to conclude our book fair program with a global live premiere bringing together spoken word and music!  

28 February, 2 pm EST / 8 pm CET
PERFORMANCE: Take Me to That Landscape, by Hanna Mattes & David Rothenberg



We conclude our book fair program by bringing together spoken word and music; after six months of experimenting remotely between Berlin and NY, Hanna Mattes & David Rothenberg will give their first live performance. In this unique collaboration, they try to break through the “meaninglessness” of nature to find truth, beauty, contact, and love in a world where invisible species are constantly trying to lure us beyond our mere humanity.

Hanna Mattes is a pioneer in analogue photography and a fantastical astronomer. She explores the boundaries of photography, leaving space for mystery, while her work maps out aesthetic inventions. She has had exhibitions and artist residencies worldwide. In 2019, she published her second photo book, The Lunar System, with K. Verlag. Her latest work explores poetry and sound.

Musician and philosopher David Rothenberg is the author of numerous books including Why Birds Sing and Nightingales in Berlin. He has performed or recorded with Pauline Oliveros, Peter Gabriel, Ray Phiri, Suzanne Vega, Scanner, Elliott Sharp, Iva Bittová, and the Karnataka College of Percussion. His new chapter “Among the Nightingales in Berlin” is published in intercalations 6: These Birds of Temptation, out with K. Verlag in March 2021. Rothenberg is Distinguished Professor at the New Jersey Institute of Technology.